RSS

Gym Bunnies

04 Oct

So, I’ve just got back from the gym after completing ny required exercise for my 10 week challenge and let me tell you it’s not easy at all!

I huffed and puffed and sweated till I looked like I was going to explode! And I actually thought I would at 1 point. But I completed it with a little help from the one direction boys, sshhh don’t tell anyone my daughters playlist helps me through some hard times at the gym ;). 

I’ve lost not so many lbs in the past fortnight but the inches, well they’re disappearing quicker than a British summer. So far in total 10 inches have dropped off so it’s working and totally worth it. 

So as I said just back from today’s session and I used my local leisure centre which only has a small but adequate fitness suite and is split between men and women at different times of the day. 

So this morning was the ladies session and trust me any more than 5 people and it’s cramped. So with all machines being used I opted to start with my 10 min abs ouch! Hard work that was but I followed it up with some squats and arm exercises with weights whilst I waited for the cross trainer to be free. 

This is where the fun began. Usually everyone has the headphones on and we are all totally oblivious to others but one woman today decided to use the radio so we all had to suffer with it in the background me especially as she was on the rower behind me. After 10 mins of my HIIT session she was joined opposite by another woman and friendly chat followed. My music stopped as I got a phone call, ignored as I was in no fit state to answer, and this is what I heard. 

Lady1: she’s putting me off

Lady2: why?

Lady1: look at her she’s sweating and the noise she’s making

(breathless, heavy breathing result of exercise and raising my heart rate)

Lady2: ridiculous girls of that size come to the gym should be at home with a chocolate on the sofa out of our way!

Seriously!

And then the disgusted looks started so I just turned and looked at them shook my head and with renewed fight I carried on till the end of my 20 mins. 

Gyms are not just for slim fit women, they weren’t young girls, actually older than me!, they are there for us all to use to get fit and lose weight, maintain our weight or just to stay healthy. Whatever our reasons we should be allowed to workout in peace. We are all critical enough or our own bodies with others cruelly confirming our fears and worries. 

Yes I am a bigger girl and if you don’t like watching me work out avert your eyes somewhere else. 

I’m proud to say that I’m am doing something about my weight and I will continue to go to gym to achieve my goals. 

It’s this kind of behaviour that put me off going to a gym for so many years and now I do go I go on my own a lot. Most of the time everyone is there to do the same as you and are so involved in what they are doing they don’t even recognise you are there too. But that small minority do exist im afraid and to be honest to me they can work out all they want to achieve the perfect body, but they will still always be horrible on the outside. 

So, dear gym bunnies, please allow us ‘big girls’ the space and decency to work out in peace and be the ones to be critical of our own bodies without your opinions as you never know one day we may just look better than you!

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 4, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Gym Bunnies

  1. jo smith

    October 10, 2013 at 3:38 pm

    OMG!!! This is horrend. I would honestly have swung my sweaty head their direction and watched them realise just how disgusting it is to have ANY sweat on their bodies because let me tell you… they’ll be running as fast as we’d reach for any choccy bar!

     

Leave a Reply

 
