RSS

Church

15 Dec

Today Olivia had to attend a church service as she is in the school choir and they were asked to sing for the schools church. 

Due to issues with the church building it is currently holding services in the school hall. 

When I was younger I used to attend church and sunday school services every week and from what I remember I enjoyed going. I stopped going at around the age of 12 I think and since then have only gone for weddings, christenings and funerals. 

Apart from one christening I haven’t actually attended church with Olivia. Religion just isn’t a part of our lives. Church numbers are dwindling they informed us and I’m sure they are not alone. I just don’t feel like I need it in my life personally and today I’m afraid to say hasn’t changed my mind at all. 

The service as a whole felt very dated and did nothing to grab my attention. I kind of felt guilty for feeling like this, they are doing what they love and believe in and I could barely disguise the boredom on my face. 

Olivia enjoyed her carol service but when asked if she would like to go back again next week the answer was no, despite a cute little story, amusingly read out, about Harold the smallest angel. So I don’t think it will be a feature in our sunday mornings.  

Do you go to church or what do you think will help attract new people into their local churches?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 15, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
