RSS

SuperSundaySavings

12 Jan

Hi and welcome to my first SuperSundaySavings post with the fab Joanna from Coming From Carsonsmummy.The aim to start a saving habit whether it be for something big, Jo is expecting her second son in may, or for a rainy day so I thought I would join in. 

For the past few years I have had a standing order set up for £10 a week out of my wages initially for christmas. As our family is growing at a rapid rate this is essential as I’m only on minimum wage at work and as we all money money doesn’t go that far these days! This money comes in handy for other things to, it’s paid for a holiday, car repairs and is currently being used to pay my sister back for MORE tickets to see the amazing Mr Michael Buble! Unfortunately this means that I don’t get the full £500 in December leaving me to find the money elsewhere. 

This year I was planning to increase payments to £15 a week but the temptation will still be there to use this extra money for unexpected things, so how could I ensure I have more money set aside for the most expensive time of the year? Park Hampers that’s how! I usually end up getting around £200 back from my savings so using the figure of £5 a week I opted to save for a £200 LovetoShop giftcard. This would ensure I had at least this amount for when I need to get my Gifts bought. 

I set up a direct debit for the first of the month, a regular £20 stating on February 1st and last payment on November 1st with my gift card arriving in plenty of time. 

I also aim to save up to go abroad this year but until I have my holidays at work confirmed I can’t plan anything. 

I would love to know what or if you are saving for anything and what are your tips for ensuring you stick to this especially as I’m a spender not a saver!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “SuperSundaySavings

  1. Jo & Bump! (@carsonsmummy)

    January 12, 2014 at 5:18 pm

    Fab way to save!! Xx

     

Leave a Reply

 
